Who is it for?

Who is the Transitional Heart Failure Clinic for?
  • NYHA stage III or IV symptoms or Stage D HF.
  • Moderate Frailty: Requires help with all IADLs (taking medications/ shopping) and some ADLs (bathing/ dressing). Equivalent to Clinical Frailty Scale ≥ 6 (see below)
  • Unable to attend clinic visits in person
  • Patient is not on dialysis
  • Does not have a defibrillator (AICD), OR a documented plan in place to deactivate the AICD.
  • 35 km from the QEII facility, or a maximum of 35 minutes by car.
  • Patient & family are in agreement with a transition in care to palliation of symptoms. 
  • Primary goals of care: control symptoms, maximize function & maintain quality of life.
p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 5.0px 0.0px; font: 18.0px 'Trebuchet MS'; color: #000000; -webkit-text-stroke: #000000} li.li2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 8.0px 0.0px; font: 11.0px 'Trebuchet MS'; color: #000000; -webkit-text-stroke: #000000} span.s1 {font-kerning: none} span.s2 {font: 11.0px Symbol} ul.ul1 {list-style-type: disc}